תמונת תיאור משלימה ללוגו

Markus Stockhausen – QUADRIVIUM

A grand display of music and intuition | Friday | 15.2 | Isrotel Theater | 19:45 רכישת כרטיסים
תמונת נושא עבור Markus Stockhausen – QUADRIVIUM

“Intuitive Music and More”, “Singing and Silence” are among the titles of the seminars he teaches while expressing a great interest in “Transformation through Sound”. A versatile artist, trumpeter and composer, Markus Stockhausen (61) inherited the great music legacy of his father, composer Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007). He began playing the piano at the age of six and later in his teens picked up the trumpet that has raised his fascination while observing his father conducting orchestra rehearsals. For nearly four decades, he has been regularly performing as a soloist and bandleader confidently navigating between classical, contemporary and jazz music. For 25 years, he performed with his father who also composed numerous wonderful pieces for him.

Internationally acclaimed soloist, improviser and composer, Markus Stockhausen has participated in more than 90 recordings while performing with and composing for leading ensembles including the BBC Symphony Orchestra, the 12 Cellists of the Berlin Philharmonic, the London Sinfonietta, the Metropole Orkest, the Swiss Jazz Orchestra, and the Camerata Bern, to name a few. Emphasizing the creative element, Stockhausen tends to dismiss the need for the division of music genres and much of his creation can be defined as intuitive. With a keen sense of proportion and clarity his music generates a distinct ambiance that reflects his freedom to explore the trivial as well as emotional depths.

Stockhausen arrives to Eilat with his enthusiastically praised project, QUADRIVIUM (a medieval term referring as opposed to the “rhetorical arts” to the four “mathematical arts” – arithmetic, geometry, astronomy and music). Naturally evolving, the roots of this quartet goes back to 2003 when Stockhausen began performing as a duo with the mesmerizing Italian pianist, Angelo Comisso. A year later, they were joined by the extremely sensitive and virtuoso percussionist, Christian Thomé. In 2015, completing this electrifying European jazz ensemble, cellist Jörg Brinkmann joined the group and since then they are called QUADRIVIUM. Their music clearly refers to the roots of European music art while electronic sounds expand the harmonious sound scapes. Compositions by Stockhausen, Comisso and Brinkmann form a harmonious synthesis of the art of improvisation and bold emotional expression that is light, playful and sometimes humorous. This is spick-and-span stylish jazz music with cinematic qualities and excellent aesthetics that can also speak to the hearts of classical and contemporary music fans. Jazz Podium German jazz magazine describes, “a unique sound concept: a music of transition, floating in space, that gives the listener an idea of transcending the present – and thus of freedom.”

Markus Stockhausen Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Electronics
Jörg Brinkmann Cello, Electronics
Angelo Comisso Piano
Christian Thomé Drums, Electronics

Photo: Thoma J. Krebs

Duration of the show: 75 minutes.

השמעה ב Spotify
Accessibility Notice · Sitemap